Beschaffung von Microsoft Online Services in China

19/08/2022

Procurement of Microsoft Online Services in China

The People's Republic of China is commonly regarded (along with special cases like North Korea) as the most digitally regulated country in the world. The Great Firewall of China and laws such as the Personal Information Protection Law (PIPL) enable China to shape its internal software market. This is especially true for the provision of cloud services. We explain what sourcing such services looks like in the Microsoft environment in China in this blog post.

A brief overview of the legal situation

The basis of cloud regulation in the People's Republic of China is the so-called "2015 Telecoms Catalogue", which does not explicitly define "cloud computing" and "cloud service", but speaks of "Internet Resource Coordination Services" (ICRS), which, according to the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, includes "cloud services" (IaaS, PaaS and SaaS).

Internet Resource Coordination Services, which are considered to be a cloud service, fall into the category of "Internet Data Centre Services". In the People's Republic of China, a "Value-Added Telecoms Services" (VATS) license is required to operate an Internet Data Centre. Only Chinese companies can obtain this license, which is why Microsoft Cloud Services can only be purchased in the People's Republic of China via the local provider 21Vianet.

The role of 21Vianet and the division of tasks with Microsoft

The company is China's largest service provider for Internet Data Centers and offers hosting, managed network services and cloud computing infrastructure. 21Vianet licenses Microsoft technologies and operates local Office365 data centers in China. This means that data in O365 is stored in accordance with legal requirements within China. 21Vianet offers the online services on a subscription basis, provides 1st and 2nd level support and invoices the services to the customer directly or via the Licensing Solution Provider (indirect sales channel). In the direct channel, Microsoft takes the lead in the sales process and contract negotiations. However, the contract itself is then concluded between the customer and 21Vianet. Microsoft also provides 3rd level support directly in China.

Availability of Microsoft Online Services in China

The online services offered are based on the globally available services, but some of them are not (yet) offered or are only offered with restrictions. A current overview of the available services can be found on the following Microsoft website. In particular, higher-value security and compliance features, but also MS Teams and Audio Conferencing are not yet offered. The same applies to the Microsoft365 bundle, so that licenses for the Windows operating system still have to be purchased separately. A precise comparison of the required services with the available and offered services is essential.

Obtaining Microsoft Online Services in China

In order to use online services, an Online Service Premium Agreement (OSPA) must be concluded with 21Vianet or via a Licensing Solution Provider. The contract structure is very similar to the well-known Microsoft contracts and includes the Online Service Terms, Data Protection Addendum, Service Level Agreement and Signature Sheets.

Before signing, the contract documents should be carefully checked, especially with regard to terms of use and their updating, liability clauses, service levels, and data protection regulations. Our experience has shown that negotiations with Microsoft and 21Vianet are generally very tough, but with the appropriate perseverance and emphasis, one or two concessions can be achieved.

Are you also faced with the task of having to negotiate a local contract with 21Vianet in China? Then please feel free to contact us!

Beschaffung von Microsoft Online Services in China

19/08/2022

Beschaffung von Microsoft Online Services in China

Die Volksrepublik China gilt gemeinläufig (neben Sonderfällen wie Nordkorea) als das digital am stärksten regulierte Land der Welt. Die Great Firewall of China und Gesetze, wie das Personal Information Protection Law (PIPL), ermöglichen China, den internen Software-Markt zu formen. Dies trifft insbesondere auf die Bereitstellung von Cloud Services zu. Wie der Bezug von derartigen Dienstleistungen im Microsoft-Umfeld in China aussieht, erläutern wir in diesem Blog Post.

Ein kurzer Überblick über die Rechtslage

Die Basis der Cloud Regulierung in der Volksrepublik China ist der sog. „2015 Telecoms Catalogue“, welcher zwar „Cloud Computing“ und „Cloud Service“ nicht explizit definiert, jedoch von „Internet Resource Coordination Services“ (ICRS) spricht, welche nach Aussagen des Ministeriums für Industrie und Informationstechnologie die „Cloud Services“ (IaaS, PaaS und SaaS) umfasst.

Die als Cloud Service geltenden Internet Resource Coordination Services fallen in die Kategorie der „Internet Data Centre Services“. Für den Betrieb eines Internet Data Centres wird in der Volksrepublik China eine „Value-Added Telecoms Services“ (VATS) Lizenz benötigt. Diese Lizenz können lediglich chinesische Unternehmen erhalten, weshalb der Bezug von Microsoft Cloud Services in der Volksrepublik China nur über den lokalen Provider 21Vianet möglich ist.

Die Rolle von 21Vianet und die Aufgabenteilung mit Microsoft

Das Unternehmen ist Chinas größter Dienstleister für Internet Data Centres und bietet Hosting, Managed Network Services und Cloud Computing-Infrastruktur an. 21Vianet lizensiert Microsoft-Technologien und betreibt lokale Office365 Rechenzentren in China. Das bedeutet, dass die Daten in O365 gemäß den rechtlichen Anforderungen innerhalb von China gespeichert werden. 21Vianet bietet die Online Services auf Basis von Subscriptions an, leistet den 1st und 2nd Level Support und rechnet die Dienstleistungen mit dem Kunden direkt oder über den Licensing Solution Provider (indirekter Vertriebskanal) ab. Microsoft übernimmt im direkten Kanal führend den Vertriebsprozess und die Vertragsverhandlung. Der Vertrag selbst kommt dann jedoch zwischen Kunde und 21Vianet zustande. Ebenfalls wird der 3rd Level Support direkt von Microsoft in China angeboten.

Verfügbarkeit der Microsoft Online Services in China

Die angebotenen Online Services orientieren sich an den global verfügbaren Services, werden teilweise aber (noch) nicht oder nur mit Einschränkungen angeboten. Eine aktuelle Übersicht der verfügbaren Dienste kann auf folgender Microsoft Website eingesehen werden. Insbesondere höherwertige Security und Compliance Features, aber auch MS Teams und Audio Conferencing werden aktuell noch nicht angeboten. Gleiches gilt für das Microsoft365 Bundle, sodass Lizenzen für das Windows Betriebssystem weiterhin separat bezogen werden müssen. Ein genauer Abgleich der benötigten mit den verfügbaren und angebotenen Diensten ist dabei unerlässlich.

Bezug von Microsoft Online Services in China

Um Online Services nutzen zu können, muss ein Online Service Premium Agreement (OSPA) mit 21Vianet oder über einen Licensing Solution Provider abgeschlossen werden. Die Vertragsstruktur ähnelnd sehr den bekannten Microsoftverträgen und umfasst u.a. die Online Service Terms, Data Protection Addendum, Service Level Agreement und Unterschriftenblätter.

Vor Unterzeichnung sollten die Vertragsdokumente, insbesondere im Hinblick auf Nutzungsbedingungen und deren Aktualisierung, Haftungsklausel, Service Levels sowie Regelungen zum Datenschutz sorgfältig geprüft werden. Unsere Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass die Verhandlungen mit Microsoft und 21Vianet grundsätzlich sehr zäh verlaufen, sich aber mit entsprechender Ausdauer und Nachdruck die einen oder anderen Zugeständnisse erreichen lassen.

Sie stehen auch vor der Aufgabe, einen lokalen Vertrag mit 21Vianet in China verhandeln zu müssen? Dann sprechen Sie uns gerne an!